Sonic the Hedgehog 1 & 2 Soundtrack Available for Preorder

Although news on it’s release has been pretty sketchy, it now finally looks like the Sonic the Hedgehog 1 & 2 soundtrack will be seeing the light of day this October.

With distribution through the Universal Music (the record label of Japanese super group Dreams Come True to which the original composer Masato Nakamura belongs), the soundtrack is set to contain the full workings from the Megadrive / Genesis titles, along with unheard demo material all reworked.

You can preorder this soundtrack now through Play-Asia for $36.49 (about £27) and CDJapan for ¥3000 (about £26), and you will be pleased to know they will ship to most countries worldwide. The soundtrack is set to be released on 19th of October 2011.

Although no announcement of track listings or box art has been confirmed, the price would indicate that this may be a double-CD soundtrack [EDIT – Sonic Retro claim it comes on a massive 3 CDs with 88 tracks -T] , although again this is speculative; we will keep you informed as always through the Sonic Stadium as more information comes to light.

PREORDER: Play-Asia, CDJapan

The Sonic Stadium may link to retailers and earn a small commission on purchases made from users who click those links. These links will only appear in articles related to the product, in an unobtrusive manner, and do not influence our editorial decisions in any way.

Published by

Adam Tuff

With a decade under his belt, Adam is one of The Sonic Stadium's most seasoned writers, with interests in the music and merchandise of the Sonic the Hedgehog universe. Adam is the co-organiser for the Summer of Sonic convention.


  1. The cover was shown during the TGS live stream, right before Jun and Tomoya started playing, in what I assume was an ad for the CD. That coupled with the fact that this comes out in a month hopefully means we get some concrete details soon. I may not have enough money for to import the Collector’s Edition but I”m not missing out on this one.

  2. Wait so.. is this like– a collection of remixed/reworked tracks?

    If not– why would I want to buy this..?

    1. It’s not remix’s it’s the original,

      And why would you want to buy it?

      Probably because the CD’s also have on them the original music which was on the original Sonic 1 pitch which has never been heard before.

  3. *Pre-orders*

    Was going to go with CD-Japan, only they tend to end up with customs fees more often than Play-asia stuff does… *crosses fingers for no customs fees*

  4. I thought it had already been confirmed that this was a 3 CD OST?

    Retro already showed what#s believe to be the cover art, it’s Kinda like the original Mega Drive box art with Generations Green Hill as a back drop, it’s pretty cool.

  5. About time! .. but the number of tracks in Sonic 1 was what.. 9? 🙂
    Should’ve stuck 1, 2 and 3+K in a collectors album

  6. I think a lot of people (including me) already own the Sonic soundtrack on their iPods, not because they wanted to steal but because they liked the music.

    1. I think that’s fine – there’s been no other conduit to get the soundtrack, and people want to enjoy the music outside of the games. But it’s also nice to own things like this – remember, this soundtrack will have tracks that have not been heard yet!

  7. I have this pre order on cd japan and I am so excited I ran into my back garden and did loads of jumps and kicks and shouted my name dead loud and did a dead cute smile.

Comments are closed.